Sheila Oakley donated this Collection of Arlesey 80’s Photos to Arlesey TC Archive scanned by clive lombari

arlesey 80's flood

The Car is approaching Arlesey Carpets drive

Arlesey Biggs Butchers

Biggs butchers Angela Bigg was in my class at Etonbury , i believe the butchers had a racehorse as well.John Hayes reminded me the horse’s name was Oxo .I remember now lots of Arlesey people having a flutter on it when it ran.

 Arlesey Cosy Cinema

A nice colour photo of the Cosy cinema , Nipper Dalton’s mum used to run it.

Arlesey Goodwins bakers

Peter Goodwins Bakery I believe he had a skip hire business as well. it would be good to have a bakery in the village like Stotfold has Ashwell Bakery.

Arlesey Hildons butchers

I remember my Mr Hildon senior mainly , and going in there with my mum. He stocked stuff for the Hospital road Italians as well.

Arlesey Lamb Meadow

Lamb Meadow I remember playing there for the under sixteens, and there was a very large crowd against a much fancied Hitchin Argonauts.I think we drew 1-1.

Arlesey Three Counties Firemans helmets

Three Counties Firemans helmets .I think the Fairfield hospital huts are in the background.

Arlesey W.I. Fire

W.I. being refurbished after the fire.What caused the fire? I bet the Insurance company would have tried hard getting out of paying for it today. Slightest thing and they don’t payout.The womens institute was built out of wood in 1918. It was used as a cinema until the Cosy opened in 1920. Later on London Brick Company donated all the bricks needed to rebuild it because even when i was a boy in the sixties it was also the village hALL.

Arlesey W.I. no roof

The Womens Institute was first made out of wood . It was used as a cinema to start with .  London Brick donated the bricks for the building so it could be rebuilt .New roof going on the W.I. parking was bad there then as well.Arlesey Women’s Institute Hall re-opened on the 29th October two years after being gutted by fire on 15th April 1981, the cost of restoration and rebuilding being around £24,000.

Biggs Butchers Arlesey1

I wonder why the double window was bricked up.Did Mr Biggs own the slaughterhouse as well ?

Grimes Cottage Arlesey with railway stuff

Grimes cottage with the railway memorabilia.Shame it was taken down i always used to look at it. Lyn lives there now I believe.

The star pub arlesey and Karl's Franklon's cottage

What a lovely little cottage shame it was demolished and not refurbished.

Even though Karl Franklin it was always cold even with a roaring fire. I remember a row of cottages behind there with an outside tap for the tenants.

One thought on “Sheila Oakley donated this Collection of Arlesey 80’s Photos to Arlesey TC Archive scanned by clive lombari

Leave a Reply

